do I really have my life together?

Sorry for not posting last week! My life was INSANE. I went on a trip to visit some of my high school friend and I had 2 exams. College is crazy haha. Which brings me to my topic for this post! One of my friends recently dropped out of college because she felt like she was not as prepared for college as everyone else. She said that she did not know what she wanted her major to be and she did not have her life together like everyone else did and she wouldn’t believe me when I told her no one really has their self together.

Let me just set the record straight here. If any college student EVER tells you that they have their life together…they are lying to your face. Most likely if you ever hear those words come out of a college student’s mouth, they are trying to convince themselves more so than they are trying to convince you. I have a theory that schools use freshman year to weed out the people who shouldn’t really be in college. Like they just assign a crap ton of useless work so that you spend every waking hour devoting your life to a paper for a class that doesn’t even count towards your major at the time (because your major will change). You think college will be all partying and some learning and then they make you work so much you can’t eat, sleep, and any chance you even have a possibility to go out you take a nap instead. Freshman year is basically The Hunger Games school version and those who can’t survive off of coffee and Hot Pockets are left behind 😉

college stress

Then there’s the matter of majors. I can count on one hand the amount of people I know who haven’t changed their major at least once. You’re not supposed to know! I started off Undecided because I really had no idea what I wanted to do. Then I declared Strategic Communications because I wanted to do Event Planning. Well then a month after I declared Strategic Communications I really wanted to transfer to Brown to go into Egyptology because I’m super strange and I buy old textbooks about Egypt off of Amazon and I read them. But then I realized that I was insane and I can’t actually get into Brown (who has an acceptance rate of like 6% for those of you who didn’t know) and I didn’t want to devote my life to Egypt; I just liked to learn about it as a hobby. Well now I’m going through this phase where I really want to be a high school English teacher. I would love to teach, but I have a problem with where the education system is going (but that’s a whole different topic that I will save for a different post), but I’m still thinking about majoring in English. So, that’s where I’m at right now. Haha I have no idea what I’m doing with my life, but I also know that it’s okay because I’m a freshman!

So here’s to those who seriously do not have their shit together at all 🙂 It’s okay because that’s life and what needs to happen will happen! I apologize if there are any misspellings in here or if it rambles too bad! I am sitting in the hallway outside my next class trying to get this posted to get this posted before class starts.

If anyone else has any stories about them not having their life together, I would love to hear!

I love you all. Be adventurous. Chérir la vie.

Ellie X.

Leave a Reply

